Layer 5 · self-hosting reality check
What it actually takes to self-host Budibase
The docs say Not stated by the vendor. Its Docker docs say 2 cores and 6 GB 'should be enough' for most use cases, and that is the only figure it gives. In practice you want 6 GB with 2 cores, the vendor's figure. The current compose file also runs a LiteLLM proxy with its own PostgreSQL, which comes out of the same budget. Here is the honest version — real requirements, real monthly cost, what you will be maintaining, and the one thing that catches people out.
Usually reached from Retool alternatives, where Budibase is one of the picks.
Wondering whether you need to at all? Is Retool free? — what the free tier actually allows, and where the wall is.
| RAM — documented minimum | Not stated by the vendor. Its Docker docs say 2 cores and 6 GB 'should be enough' for most use cases, and that is the only figure it gives |
|---|---|
| RAM — what it really needs | 6 GB with 2 cores, the vendor's figure. The current compose file also runs a LiteLLM proxy with its own PostgreSQL, which comes out of the same budget |
| CPU | 2 cores (vendor) |
| Disk | CouchDB grows with your apps and internal tables; MinIO grows with uploaded files. Both are Docker volumes on the same disk by default. |
| Monthly cost | $24–48/mo on an 8 GB VPS. CouchDB, MinIO, Redis and the proxy all run in the same compose stack, so nothing else is required |
| Setup time | 30 minutes with the single budibase/budibase image; an hour or two with the full compose stack and a domain |
| How you install it | The official docker-compose runs the apps, worker and proxy services with CouchDB, MinIO, Redis, and a LiteLLM service backed by PostgreSQL. The all-in-one budibase/budibase image pre-seeds its secrets into a .env inside the volume |
| Ongoing maintenance | Releases land weekly, so pin a version and upgrade on purpose. On the free edition, backups are yours to run: CouchDB, MinIO and the .env together, through the budi CLI. |
| Where it stops scaling | One box for a team building a handful of internal apps. Past that, run CouchDB, MinIO and Redis as separate services and move to Budibase's Helm chart on Kubernetes. |
The thing that catches people out
The Backups screen in the Budibase builder is a paid feature, and the free edition shows it locked. On a free self-hosted install, nothing backs up your apps unless you set it up. Your data lives in two stores, CouchDB and MinIO, and you need the secrets in the .env to read it back. Copying one volume is not a backup. A 2022 GitHub discussion shows restored apps that appeared in the list but would not open until the CLI and the MinIO settings were fixed. Schedule `budi backups --export` with your .env, keep the .env next to the archive, and test a restore on a scratch box before you need it.
When not to self-host Budibase
You need audit logs, enforced SSO, SCIM, user groups or in-app backups. All of those sit in the paid self-hosted Enterprise plan, priced on request. The free edition also stops at one workspace. Appsmith's Apache-2.0 Community edition is the nearest alternative.
Every guide here carries this section. A site that only ever tells you to self-host is selling something — the useful answer is sometimes no.
Other Layer 5 self-hosting guides
- Self-hosting LibreOffice2 GB with a large spreadsheet open
- Self-hosting ONLYOFFICE6 GB for the Document Server with a handful of concurrent editors
- Self-hosting Collabora Online4 GB, and roughly 1 GB per 20 concurrent documents
- Self-hosting CryptPad2 GB for a small instance
- Self-hosting Mattermost4 GB for a team of 50 with PostgreSQL on the same box
- Self-hosting Rocket.Chat6 GB with MongoDB on the same machine
Common questions
- How much RAM does Budibase actually need?
- 6 GB with 2 cores, the vendor's figure. The current compose file also runs a LiteLLM proxy with its own PostgreSQL, which comes out of the same budget in practice. The documented minimum is Not stated by the vendor. Its Docker docs say 2 cores and 6 GB 'should be enough' for most use cases, and that is the only figure it gives, which is the figure at which the process starts rather than the figure at which it works under real use. 2 cores (vendor) alongside it.
- What does self-hosting Budibase cost per month?
- $24–48/mo on an 8 GB VPS. CouchDB, MinIO, Redis and the proxy all run in the same compose stack, so nothing else is required This is commodity VPS pricing and excludes your time, which is the larger cost for most people — budget for releases land weekly, so pin a version and upgrade on purpose. On the free edition, backups are yours to run: CouchDB, MinIO and the .env together, through the budi CLI.
- How long does it take to set up Budibase?
- 30 minutes with the single budibase/budibase image; an hour or two with the full compose stack and a domain, via The official docker-compose runs the apps, worker and proxy services with CouchDB, MinIO, Redis, and a LiteLLM service backed by PostgreSQL. The all-in-one budibase/budibase image pre-seeds its secrets into a .env inside the volume.
- When should I NOT self-host Budibase?
- You need audit logs, enforced SSO, SCIM, user groups or in-app backups. All of those sit in the paid self-hosted Enterprise plan, priced on request. The free edition also stops at one workspace. Appsmith's Apache-2.0 Community edition is the nearest alternative.
- What is the most common mistake when self-hosting Budibase?
- The Backups screen in the Budibase builder is a paid feature, and the free edition shows it locked. On a free self-hosted install, nothing backs up your apps unless you set it up. Your data lives in two stores, CouchDB and MinIO, and you need the secrets in the .env to read it back. Copying one volume is not a backup. A 2022 GitHub discussion shows restored apps that appeared in the list but would not open until the CLI and the MinIO settings were fixed. Schedule `budi backups --export` with your .env, keep the .env next to the archive, and test a restore on a scratch box before you need it.