Layer 5 · self-hosting reality check
What it actually takes to self-host Pinta
The docs say Not stated by the vendor. Pinta 3.1 needs .NET 8 or later, GTK 4.18+ and libadwaita 1.7+; on Linux the Flatpak and Snap packages bring those with them. In practice you want Depends on your images. Every layer is a full uncompressed canvas at 4 bytes per pixel, so a 24-megapixel photo costs about 96 MB per layer, before undo history. Here is the honest version — real requirements, real monthly cost, what you will be maintaining, and the one thing that catches people out.
Usually reached from Adobe Photoshop alternatives, where Pinta is one of the picks.
Wondering whether you need to at all? Is Photoshop free? — what the free tier actually allows, and where the wall is.
| RAM — documented minimum | Not stated by the vendor. Pinta 3.1 needs .NET 8 or later, GTK 4.18+ and libadwaita 1.7+; on Linux the Flatpak and Snap packages bring those with them |
|---|---|
| RAM — what it really needs | Depends on your images. Every layer is a full uncompressed canvas at 4 bytes per pixel, so a 24-megapixel photo costs about 96 MB per layer, before undo history |
| CPU | Any machine that runs a current Windows, macOS (Intel or Apple Silicon) or Linux desktop |
| Disk | The app plus its GTK runtime. On Linux the Flatpak shares a GNOME runtime with other apps. Your images are wherever you save them. |
| Monthly cost | $0 — it runs on the machine you already own |
| Setup time | 5 minutes |
| How you install it | Windows installer or the macOS build (separate Intel and Apple Silicon downloads) from pinta-project.com, or Flathub / Snap on Linux |
| Ongoing maintenance | Install new versions when they ship, which is a few times a year (3.0.4 through 3.1.2 in the last twelve months). No account, no server, nothing to back up but your own files. |
| Where it stops scaling | One person on one machine, since it's a desktop app. How big an image you can edit depends on your RAM, because every layer is held uncompressed in memory. |
The thing that catches people out
Layers only survive in one format. Pinta's only layered file type is OpenRaster (.ora). Saving to PNG or JPG flattens the image (Pinta warns you first), and it has no Photoshop .psd handler, so a layered PSD a client sends you won't open with its layers. Keep your working copy as .ora, export PNG or JPG copies to share, and keep a PSD-capable editor like GIMP or Krita for files that come from Photoshop users.
When not to self-host Pinta
You're replacing Photoshop for professional or client work. Pinta is a Paint.NET-style editor for quick everyday edits (its own README calls it a clone of Paint.Net 3.0) and can't exchange layered files with Photoshop. GIMP or Krita are the closer matches.
Every guide here carries this section. A site that only ever tells you to self-host is selling something — the useful answer is sometimes no.
Other Layer 5 self-hosting guides
- Self-hosting LibreOffice2 GB with a large spreadsheet open
- Self-hosting ONLYOFFICE6 GB for the Document Server with a handful of concurrent editors
- Self-hosting Collabora Online4 GB, and roughly 1 GB per 20 concurrent documents
- Self-hosting CryptPad2 GB for a small instance
- Self-hosting Mattermost4 GB for a team of 50 with PostgreSQL on the same box
- Self-hosting Rocket.Chat6 GB with MongoDB on the same machine
Common questions
- How much RAM does Pinta actually need?
- Depends on your images. Every layer is a full uncompressed canvas at 4 bytes per pixel, so a 24-megapixel photo costs about 96 MB per layer, before undo history in practice. The documented minimum is Not stated by the vendor. Pinta 3.1 needs .NET 8 or later, GTK 4.18+ and libadwaita 1.7+; on Linux the Flatpak and Snap packages bring those with them, which is the figure at which the process starts rather than the figure at which it works under real use. Any machine that runs a current Windows, macOS (Intel or Apple Silicon) or Linux desktop alongside it.
- What does self-hosting Pinta cost per month?
- $0 — it runs on the machine you already own This is commodity VPS pricing and excludes your time, which is the larger cost for most people — budget for install new versions when they ship, which is a few times a year (3.0.4 through 3.1.2 in the last twelve months). No account, no server, nothing to back up but your own files.
- How long does it take to set up Pinta?
- 5 minutes, via Windows installer or the macOS build (separate Intel and Apple Silicon downloads) from pinta-project.com, or Flathub / Snap on Linux.
- When should I NOT self-host Pinta?
- You're replacing Photoshop for professional or client work. Pinta is a Paint.NET-style editor for quick everyday edits (its own README calls it a clone of Paint.Net 3.0) and can't exchange layered files with Photoshop. GIMP or Krita are the closer matches.
- What is the most common mistake when self-hosting Pinta?
- Layers only survive in one format. Pinta's only layered file type is OpenRaster (.ora). Saving to PNG or JPG flattens the image (Pinta warns you first), and it has no Photoshop .psd handler, so a layered PSD a client sends you won't open with its layers. Keep your working copy as .ora, export PNG or JPG copies to share, and keep a PSD-capable editor like GIMP or Krita for files that come from Photoshop users.